Ughhh? GPS and the Sunset Festival

I’ve been to the Fort Pierce Marina before, but sometimes when I have a lot to do I lose my sense of direction, lol. Does that ever happen to you? Well, I turned on my trusty (or should I say, ‘not so trusty’) GPS and was on my way to Sunset Festival Caribbean Night. It led me over the bridge to Hutchinson Island Beach, right next to two guy’s who had just finished scuba diving. Hubby asked them for directions and we realized we past the Marina 10 minutes ago. Ughhhh!

So, we finally arrive and I hear some great music playing. Of course most people are too shy to dance in the daylight, so during this time I roam the vendor areas trying to see how I can “Support St Lucie County”…(you like how I snuck that in there? lol). Immediately I see Tony’s Gyro stand, and we’re huge fans so we take 2 to go, then walk around the other tables. My eyes quickly spot jewelry and since I like handmade and exotic pieces I end up buying some really nice earrings. I wish I picked up more : (

I turn around and notice a sign saying “Free”…my feet couldn’t help but to walk closer to it. That’s when I realized the woman in charge of the items was none other than Nichole Rouse, who owns the Treasure Coast Reuse Center. We speak for a little while and I realize how great and important her work is. If you ever need anything, contact her before heading to the store. She has lots of items to give away, FREE! Same goes for those willing to donate. If there’s something you no longer need, there’s always someone else who does. Remember, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure!

During this time, my nose is still at work and I smell jerk chicken and conch fritters, yummmm. The sun goes down just in time for me to stuff my face without everyone seeing how I chew. The food was so delicious we had to get a second order of everything. We watch the musicians play, a woman dancing the night away while seated in a chair and the singer telling her “That chair is too hot, someone get her some water it’s going to burn”, lol…and people are enjoying the festivities. They play the Electric Slide song and people join in to do the famous dance. Soon after my kids were tired, so it was time for us to go home. But, we had a very nice time and look forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

