College

I just got off the phone with one of my student loan lenders…If I had the courage to live without all the technological advances of this world, I would move to the woods and hide.

I’m not blaming the schools I went to, because it’s my own stupidity that led me to the situation I’m in. I just wish so badly, that I could turn back the hands of time and had been content with being a stay at home mom.

In the year 2000 I graduated from High School and went to college, studying Forensic Science. I realized my heart wasn’t in it so I did nothing with myself from 2004-2006 beside work a few secretary jobs which I loved. I knew after having my mom spend so much of her hard-earned money on my tuition, it was hurting her, so in 2006 I decided to go to school…again. This time I’d get  into the technology field and I’ll use student loans.

I majored in Computer Forensics, earning my CIS degree in 2009. Little did I know, I wouldn’t be able to find a job anywhere near my field. Heck, I can’t even find a job working Tech Support. <insert cry here> I wish I didn’t go!

Now I have mounting student loans I cannot afford to pay, and no income of my own. I started my own website and just realized it can become my career, but I didn’t need to go to school for this. Like many other computer geeks, I’ve learned everything I needed on the web. What was I thinking?

When I was on the job hunt, I applied everywhere I thought I was qualified. All I received we’re emails saying, “we’re sorry, but we decided to choose a more qualified candidate”, or “you may be overqualified for this position”. What? Can someone really be over qualified, just because they have a degree. A more qualified candidate for a cashier position? I was a cashier!!! I understand that you may think I would be a likely candidate to leave a job because a better offer came along, but what other qualifications do I have besides a college education? None! My only jobs were pharmacy photo developer, cashier and some clerical work.

I’m happy to have graduated, but the aftermath sucks! I encourage all people considering college to do homework. Don’t believe the hype, because although I was told by my school advisor that I am guaranteed a job within 6 months of graduation, I should’ve been smarter than to believe it. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t blame the school, because I did move to a small town soon after. But, I thought computer geeks would be needed everywhere. The only guarantee is that you will have to pay back your loans. Network and try to find an internship early on. That may help when it comes time for you to leave school, and you’re loan deferment expires.

Now I ask you. What do you think of College? Was it for you? And if you went to College, how long did it take for you to find employment?

Leave a Reply

