Experiencing the Farmers Market

Have you ever been to a Farmers or  ‘Fort Pierce Jazz & Blues Society – Jazz Market?

Today was great! After the last few weeks of FL cold (any temperature under 62 degrees), it felt so good feeling the sun on my skin. I’m usually stuck in the house during the weekend mornings since my husband acts like a vampire and doesn’t want to see daylight. He’s the type who likes family everything. Sweet, but damn that can be annoying at times! Who wants to do a family field trip to the mall or anywhere for that matter, just to be rushed by a guy who hasn’t realized in the 10 years we’ve been together that I browse, E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G!!!?

Anyhoo, back to my experience. In all the years that I’ve lived in Port St Lucie, I have never visited any of the local green markets. Nor have I been to the Fort Pierce Jazz & Blues Society – Jazz Market. I didn’t even know there were two separate Markets at this location! I always thought these types of events were flea markets with fruit. Hey, I’m from NY…that’s what I was used to. By the way, it amazes me that when Floridians have yard sales or sales on Craigslist, you can find really nice items for a bargain (my house is Craigslist furnished, lol)…in NY people only sell their “eww” items cheap. Ughhh, there I go getting off topic again…Ronda’s Random Thoughts!

So, I set my alarm and made the decision to leave the family at home and go to Fort Pierce Marina to experience the green market alone. I know my husband was happy to be able to stay in bed as late as he wanted and I was happy for FREEDOM (I’m sure other stay at home moms understand, lol). I pulled up near the Marina and then I had to leave the area to find parking on a side street. Boy was this place packed! My first thought after getting out of the car was, what are all these people doing here so early in the morning? All this for fruits and veggies? Then I heard music. My next thought walking towards the market was, “damn I need to buy a pair of sneakers, because heels and dirt is not hot!”.

At the first booth, I noticed there was a guy selling Gator items. Gator ties, gator wallets, Gator key-chains and such! Gator ties? Who knew?

There was a lady selling hand made soaps that smelled good enough to eat. Authors doing book signings. Lots of vendors of all types including types I never even heard of, food and music! There were some items that really stood out. (view pics)

Then I saw these beautiful scarves, some with jewels attached. At first glance, I wondered who would need a scarf in FL? Besides being quickly reminded of how cold it has been the past few weeks, I also noticed the set up of scarves and how great it looked with tanks.

I wish I took the time to check this place out before the Holidays! I could’ve supported local businesses while buying much better Christmas gifts than what I bought. Luckily, it’s never too late to give a “just because” gift! I was shocked by the beautiful, handmade items at this market. Well made, great quality and an easy reminder of why I leave my money at home…a girl could go broke here! 🙂

If you’re local, I encourage you to check it out! I will definitely visit again!

Leave a Reply

