1st Annual Walk Against Violence

March 10th was the first official Walk Against Violence event, presented by Team Bali and Dem Diamondz promotional group. I wasn’t sure what to expect after I first drove past, because I only saw a handful of people there. So, I drove to the Fort Pierce Marina to kill time and check out the scenery while I waited for more people to arrive at the location for the walk. When I returned, I noticed a few more vendor booths in place. I parked and asked a gentleman preparing his booth if he expected a large turnout. He informed me that where I was, was actually the end location of the walk and people already began walking…that put a smile on my face.

Although I would have to wait for everyone to arrive, I was happy to hear that I was at the “end zone”. I just hoped to see more than 20 people participating since this was such a great cause. While speaking to some vendors we noticed cop cars driving and closing off the ends of the road. Then we saw another cop car driving slowly with flashing lights and a large group of people behind it. I was ecstatic to see that behind that car was a huge group of participants. Signs held high and some wearing t-shirts that were dedicated to loved ones lost.

During the event, attendees were offered the opportunity to speak. Those who were willing, shared what the walk meant to them, their opinion of the current state of violence in the community and relationships between officers and civilians. The pavement was lined by prints of victims of violence, a lot of photos. Different age groups, different ethnicity, but the same fate. A sad reminder of why this event was so necessary.

Entertainment included performances by Tamara H, SDS and Legendary Bali. The acts were great and I finally had the opportunity to meet people I only spoke with on Facebook! I stayed to hear a few songs then had to prepare to leave! It was really hot outside and I still had other events to visit, so this is where my story ends! 🙂

Click to view event photos!

 

Leave a Reply

